Home‎ > ‎Achievements‎ > ‎

Awards 2011

Ormiston Awards Recipients 2011 

In line with our founding Vision and Values we have developed an Awards Ceremony that reflects our unique approach to learning. Stemming from the vision and values we have developed a set of 8 norms which we use everyday to define learning and behaviour.  These norms represent the following qualities: resilience, creativity, building strong relationships, critical curiosity, making connections with the wider world, growing as a learner, being a contributing member of our community and valuing culture. A kiwi icon represents each of these norms. Each award recognises a different way of excelling as a student at Ormiston Senior College.

 Waka – for exceptional school involvement

This award is given to students who have been exceptional in their strategic awareness and willingness to work to keep the vision and values of the school alive and prospering. The recipients of this award have thrown themselves into the life of the college though involvement in a large range of activities including dance groups, concert band, sports and service.

This year’s recipients are: Diksha Nirti and Taz Lamb

Pukeko for creativity at industry standard

This award is given to students who have produced a piece of work that is at industry standard that is innovative and exceptional. 

This year’s recipients of Pukeko awards are: Steven Liang and Sally Tang  - both students worked together on a Food Technology CREST project which received a commended award by NZIFST for meeting the industry standard with their “Kiwiloaf”.

Harakeke – for providing exceptional support for the learning of others.

This award is given to students who have been exceptional in supporting the learning of their fellow students in several different areas of school life.

This year’s recipients of Harekeke awards are: Dwayne Van Wyk  - Spirit, Hockey, itime maths, aviation and construction - and Teeroy Leo.  – Spirit, English, Music, IDD and guitarist for kapa haka and school waiata.

Papatuanuku  - for leadership in culture

This award is given to students who have either led their fellow students in developing the culture of the school or have made an exceptional contribution to sustainability within the school or wider community. 

This year’s recipient is: Farah Mohammed.

Mokoroa – for exceptional growth as a learner

This award is given to students who have demonstrated exceptional growth as learners through the ability to be reflective and responsive in their learning at the school.

This year’s recipients are : Rina Oge, Joshua Kim and Keereshan Gounden.

Kea – for critical curiosity

This award is given to students who actively seek learning opportunities beyond the required framework on a consistent basis.

This year’s recipient is: Shaniel Kumar for his exceptional inquiry into photography and stage lighting; attending a course in own time.

Pungawerewere – for making connections to the wider world

This award is given to students who have been exceptional in learning beyond the school environment, bring new knowledge into the school and demonstrating understanding within our wider community.

This year’s recipients is: Gemma Jayde Naidoo – Gemma has made strong connections with previous learning and new learning and has built on, extend and refine her own ability, particularly in the field of Dance.


This awards is given to students who have demonstrated the ability to strive for and achieve excellence.

The recipient for the Kahikatea Award for Performing Arts Excellence is Teeroy Leo. He gained 1st place in national hip-hop competition with the dance group Dskyz. In addition to this in November his group represented New Zealand in the varsity section of world supremacy battleground competition in Sydney.

The recipients for the Kahikatea Awards for Academic Excellence are the students who have earned at least 30 Excellence credits through internal assessment this year. They received this award for demonstrating the drive and desire required to reach this mark. Kahikatea awards are also awarded to students who have been recognized nationally or regionally in their chosen field.

This year’s recipients of Kahikatea awards are: Laura Kanal, Gurkunwar Bedi, Edward Boxall, Sophie Giles, RA Abrugena, Manisha Morar, Gemma Jayde Naidoo and Ashley Narayan  - All for exceeding 30 credits at Excellence for internal assessments at Level one NCEA.